Ballon d’Or 2021 live stream: how to watch the awards ceremony online tonight


The Ballon d’Or is back tonight after being skipped last year, and Lionel Messi has been set as the favorite to take home the award.

The award, presented by the French magazine France Football, is considered the highest individual honor in football. It was established in 1956 and was only eligible for European players until 1995, before voting was open to all players from European clubs. From 2007 it became a world award.

The 2020 prize was canceled due to the pandemic because so much football had been missed, much to the disappointment of overwhelming favorite Robert Lewandowski, who was on the verge of winning his first Golden Ball.

The Polish striker from Bayern Munich is among the favorites again, but Messi’s Copa America victory earlier this year put him at the top of the table this year. If Messi wins, it would be his seventh Ballon d’Or, a record that would allow him to take two advances over his great rival Cristiano Ronaldo.

Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas could take the women’s award after an exceptional year which included a Champions League victory. Awards for the best young male player (Kopa Trophy) and goalkeeper (Yashin Trophy) will also be awarded.

Here’s all you need to know.

At what time is the Ballon d’Or award?

The ceremony takes place this evening, Monday, November 29, at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris from 19:30 GMT.

How to watch

The Ballon d’Or ceremony will be broadcast live online via The team‘s Youtube channel. Eurosport will also broadcast the prize on its Eurosport website and app. The ceremony is expected to end around 9 p.m. GMT.

Who will win?

Lionel Messi is the favorite for the men’s award and only Bayern’s Robert Lewandowski is seen as a close rival. Cristiano Ronaldo is not in contention after a disappointing Champions League campaign with Juventus and a disappointing Euro 2020. Chelsea’s Jorginho is considered the peerless player in Italy’s Euro-winning campaign, and he has also won the Champions League, but Messi is believed to be ahead of him. There are even rumors of the leak on social media, with some claiming that Messi has already been confirmed to win the award.

Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas and Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema lead the charge for the women’s award, which started in 2019. Putellas scored in the final as all-time winner Barca won the Champions League while that Miedema is both the all-time top scorer for the Netherlands and the Women’s Super League. and scored goals at the Olympics.

Spaniard Pedri is set to win the Kopa trophy for best young male player, while Edouard Mendy of Chelsea and Gianluigi Donnarumma of PSG lead the race for the men’s goalkeeper award, the Yashin Trophy.

Men’s odds

Lionel Messi 1/3

Robert Lewandowski 2/1

Jorginho 28/1

How does the vote work?

Originally voted on by journalists, in 2007 the structure of the award was changed to include the vote of coaches and captains of national teams around the world, when the award also became open to all players worldwide. rather than those who play in European leagues. although it has never been won by a player playing outside of Europe.

Each coach, captain and national journalist chooses their top three players of the calendar year. The votes are added up, with three points awarded for a first choice, two for a second choice and one point for a third choice.

Who has won the most Ballons d’Or?

There are 10 players who have won the award multiple times, listed below. Germany, the Netherlands and Portugal all have seven wins each, while Germany and Italy have the most individual winners – five different players each. Barcelona are the most successful club with 12 wins, although Real Madrid have more individual winners – seven.

Lionel Messi (Arg) – 6

Cristiano Ronaldo (Por) – 5

Michel Platini (Fra) – 3

Johann Cruyff (Ned) – 3

Franz Beckenbauer (Germany) – 2

Ronaldo (Bra) – 2

Alfredo Di Stefano (Spa) – 2

Kevin Keegan (Eng) – 2

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (Germany) – 2


Comments are closed.