Rishabh Pant’s controversial take to dismiss SA hitter sparks debate
Indian batsman Rishabh Pant made headlines on Tuesday, Day 2 of the ongoing Second Test match against South Africa at Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, for his efforts to oust Proteas batsman Robbie van der Dussen. In the 45th over South Africa’s opening innings, Indian bowler Shardul Thakur threw the fourth throw from the top to the back length outside the stump. The ball sharply shredded and took the edge of van der Dussen’s bat, the edges on the pad before landing on Rishabh Pant’s gloves.
As Robbie van der Dussen made his way quickly to the lodge, reruns suggested the ball bounced off the ground before landing in Pant’s gloves. Lunch was called after the sacking, as cricket fans wondered if the decision would be overturned. However, during the match’s live broadcast by Star Sports, former Indian cricketer and popular commentator Aakash Chopra revealed that the referees reviewed the catch over lunch, but the referee’s decision on the pitch has was retained because no conclusive evidence to reverse the dismissal was found.
The controversial take made by Rishabh Pant-
How did fans react to Rishabh Pant’s cath?
Meanwhile, seeing the controversial capture of Rishabh Pant, cricket fans on Twitter appeared to have mixed opinions. A fan said the ball bounced before entering Pant’s gloves and van der Dussen should have been called back to the ground. However, another fan said Pant clearly had his gloves under the ball and asked the others not to get carried away. At the same time, many other fans have spoken out on the debate over whether taking Rishabh Pant was legit or not.
Yeah. Who rebounds before entering the gloves, India should recall van der Dussen. This is the third time this morning that Pant has claimed a catch when he bounces, a pattern develops. South Africa should appeal for anything that hits the ground when Pant comes to bat https://t.co/AWBzLEi9Tj
– Ryan (@ryan_woolnough) January 4, 2022
I have seen it several times with the rewind option. Pants had his gloves underneath. Clean grip. Don’t get carried away by Mike Haysman’s comment.
– Ganesh Sundaramurthy (@ganni_saints) January 4, 2022
In real time and from the point of view of the main referees, it looked like a clean take. Ditto from the umpire side of the square leg.
If I were pants it would have been nice in the gloves and he moved forward to secure it.
– johnfinn117 (@ johnfinn117) January 4, 2022
The capture of Pant off Rassie van der Dussen was controversial but it was possible to overturn the decision. #NewYearsTest #SAvsIND
– Sharat Chandra Bhatt (@ imsbhatt0707) January 4, 2022
Shardul Thakur’s triple strike-
Meanwhile, at the time of writing, South Africa is at 159/4 after 63 overs in play. They lost the wickets to Dean Elgar, Keegan Petersen and van der Dussen on Day 2, thanks at the clinical bowling alley of Shardul Thakur. India earlier registered a score of 202 in the opening innings of the match.
(Image: Disney + Hotstar / BCCI)
Comments are closed.